What is ROI and what is the difference between it and ROMI?
ROI (Return on Investment) is a return on investment ratio, one of the important marketing indicators. The ROI calculation allows you to assess the level of profitability or unprofitability of the business as a whole or individual business processes (for example, an advertising campaign). Different formulas are used for this, but in the case of Internet marketing, the ratio of profit to investment or the ratio of return on investment costs is usually estimated. ROI marketing helps businesses answer critical questions about campaign effectiveness by measuring both the financial impact and resource allocation efficiency.

The difference between ROI and ROMI is not fundamental but only reflects the scope of the concept. ROMI (Return on Marketing Investment) is the ROI ratio of marketing investments. When considering what ROI is in marketing, it is essential to remember that ROMI provides a more targeted analysis specifically for advertising and promotional investments. We can say that this tool is more narrowly oriented. If, for example, ROI is used to calculate the profitability of the business as a whole and takes into account costs that are not related to promotion (rental of equipment and premises, construction of buildings, technical developments, etc.), then ROMI allows you to calculate only the profitability of advertising as a whole or individual instruments.
When it comes to online marketing, when using the term ROI, they mean ROMI. That is, these concepts are interchangeable.
ROI and ROMI calculation formulas
On the Web, you can find formulas for calculating the payback of marketing investments of varying complexity. But the simplest and most effective option can be considered the following:
ROI (ROMI) = income / expense x100%;
Where income is the funds received by the company for a certain period, the expense is expenses and investments.
If we are talking about ROMI, then in any case we are talking about a specific advertising campaign or project, which means that we take income and expenses that relate directly to them. For example, an online store of leather accessories invested 15 thousand $ in an advertising campaign and the profit received as a result of its implementation amounted to 28 thousand $.
So:
ROMI = 28 000/15 000 х100% = 187%
As calculations show, the advertising campaign in this case paid off. Marketing ROI examples like this demonstrate how businesses can analyze the efficiency of their investments. But is everything so good and what ROI (ROMI) is considered optimal? These indicators, like any others, cannot be perceived in isolation from a specific situation.
The main goal of any enterprise is to get the maximum profit. This can be achieved by selling all available goods. When analyzing the ROI obtained above, it is necessary to take into account, for example, how many available goods were calculated. If it was a small number of them, then to achieve the best performance, you need to use all the opportunities for growth and development, and sell as much as possible and as efficiently as possible. To this end, it will be necessary to optimize channels and achieve an increase in ROI with a periodic decrease in it due to an increase in investment in advertising.
ROI is a proportion that is not indicative in isolation from the context. The coefficient may be high, but the profit of the enterprise will be low.
ROAS – for those who keep advertising in the spotlight
The ROI and ROAS are very similar to each other. The differences are minimal, just the last metric is more straightforward and does not take into account the costs that are necessary to maintain the business at the time of calculating this indicator (i.e., the cost of goods).

The formula for calculating ROAS is simple: we take the income from the advertising campaign and divide it by the costs. When measuring the return on marketing investment through ROAS, businesses focus exclusively on advertising spend. The task is to get an answer to the question “Did we earn more than we spent on advertising?”.
ROAS is convenient to calculate for websites focused on lead generation. As an example, let’s take the following input data: a translation agency spent $36,847 on an advertising campaign and received 489 leads, 375 of which converted into real orders with an average check of $260 ($375 * $260 = $97,500).
ROAS = $97,500 / $36,847. = 2,64 (264%)
Thus, we understand that each hryvnia invested in advertising brought in $2.64, meaning that the advertising campaign paid off by 264%.
Why consider ROI in online marketing?
ROI cannot be called a universal tool that will solve all business problems and protect its owner from rash and irrational spending. However, by using it correctly, you can significantly affect the results of your work. Calculating ROI will help you to:
- make an important management decision regardless of the type of business;
- determine the promotion channel and choose the one that will bring the highest percentage of profit from investment;
- influence the amount of investment in different types of channels;
- to draw up a general picture of the effectiveness of advertising campaigns or analyze their effectiveness by individual channels, etc.

ROI is a tool that will help you understand whether the company is moving in the right direction and take the necessary measures in time.
10 tips to help you increase your ROI
When working to increase ROI, you need to take into account the specifics of your business. But in general, the tips can be summarised as follows:
- Analyze your target audience. Knowing the needs, problems, and habits of your consumers allows you to build mutually beneficial relationships and turn a potential client into a real customer. This advice works not only in increasing ROI but also in building a successful business in general. The main thing is to create a customer profile based on real analysis, not on assumptions.
- Keep an eye on keywords. Today, SEO is a complex tactical tool with constant research and testing. Although keywords are no longer the main ‘driving force’ of SEO, they remain an important component of successful promotion. Calculate marketing ROI by ensuring your content aligns with the terms your target audience uses. They are selected based on high-frequency queries and targeted phrases. When compiling the semantic core of your website, you need to keep in mind that the keywords and phrases used by the target audience may differ from the professional language of your business. The content of the promoted website should offer solutions to the problems of consumers, ‘communicating’ with them in their language.
- Synchronise sales and marketing strategy. The sales team can be a great source of information about the needs and desires of the target audience. ROI marketing depends heavily on aligning these strategies to enhance conversions and optimize customer interactions. Specialists can compile a list of topics that will form the basis for creating the right content to help close more deals.
- Develop a blog on your website. The regular appearance of valuable content for consumers is perceived as a sign of sustainability in business. A thematic content plan for a blog can be created not for a year, but for a month or a quarter. It should include topics that address the problems of the target audience and provide fresh and relevant information.
- Analyse metrics and KPIs. Analyzing your website according to various performance indicators (traffic sources, bounce rates, conversion rates, etc.) will help you find weaknesses in your marketing plan and take timely measures to eliminate them.
- Update your website on time. It should always be up-to-date and optimized. Pay attention to SEO, different types of content, templates, conversion points, various forms (contact, registration, etc.), interactivity of the resource as a whole, and other aspects.
- Implement CTAs. Having an optimized call to action on every page (CTA) will help to significantly improve conversions.
- Make a full expert assessment of the website. The structure of the site should be equally convenient for both search robots and visitors, the content should be of high quality and relevant meta-data, and the keywords should be correctly selected. SEO is a complex and multifaceted thing, so you need to develop a strategy using not only proven methods of work but also mastering everything new that experts offer.
- Analyze the sales funnel. This should be done on an ongoing basis and at all levels of the sales chain, with the involvement of specialists from the relevant department. A sales funnel that cannot be documented and measured may not work even if everything is planned correctly.
- Create a marketing calendar. Scheduled for the whole year, it will help you devote more time to practical activities (webinars, digital campaigns, development of printed materials, etc.).
Proper implementation of these tips in your marketing strategy will allow you to get positive results shortly.
Conclusions
RO(M)I does not exhaustively describe the performance of a marketer, but when using several advertising channels at the same time, it will help you to get a simple and clear picture of the effectiveness of each of them and the campaign as a whole.
At the same time, do not forget that when evaluating the results obtained, you should take into account the situation in the business as a whole, and not just the coefficient expressed in numbers. The return on marketing investment, alongside other metrics, provides crucial insights for long-term strategic planning.